3 Down, 2ish To Go

At the beginning of December, I’d like to take stock of where my applications stand. So far, I’ve submitted applications to NYU Stern, MIT Sloan and Columbia Business School. I’ll also say that the previous list is roughly in the order of my chances of getting into a school, from most likely to least likely. Fortunately, I’d choose the first two schools over the last one, so I’m in good shape. Of course, I’d go to any of the schools I apply to in a heartbeat; it’s just that some schools make my heart beat quicker than others.

As I assess the remaining applications I have to submit, I glance down the list of Stanford, Wharton, Kellogg, Chicago and Haas as the primary suspects. I am leaning towards choosing one of the first two, and then one of the last three. I might add another from the list, if I don’t get an interview invitation from NYU or MIT by mid-December, which is when the initial flurry of invitations is supposed to be sent out (or so says the interweb).

Gotta say, this process is a bit draining. Brainstorming, writing, proofreading, revising and repeating it all over again, to some degree, for each essay takes a lot of mental energy and time. At the same time, I’m proud of most of the stories that I’ve crafted, and it also helps me to visualize how getting an MBA will get me to where I want to be, career wise.

Two(ish) applications to go in a little over a month, with a few months of experience behind me, shouldn’t be too bad. In the meantime, I’m hoping I get an invitation to interview at one of the three schools I’ve already applied to, as it would be a needed boost to my psyche. Good luck to all those undergoing the same thing right now. Respect.

This entry was posted in B-School Applications, Evaluating MBA Programs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment