Days Like These

On sunny days like today, there’s no greater feeling than rolling down your window as you drive around, feeling the breeze against your warm face and letting any worries dissipate into your peripheral vision. Against this idyllic backdrop, it’s easy to see how people here are wondrously free to create and innovate, infused as they are with a sense of endless possibility. Makes me wonder if I would be crazy to choose to leave this blessed place, even if only temporarily.

At the same time though, perhaps a change of career also calls for a change of scenery. Inertia has led to a comfortable existence here, but I’ve also been lacking the sort of drive or opportunities that make me feel like I’m making the most of my time and abilities, attempting to achieve something worthwhile. In a different setting with a renewed purpose, I’d once again be called to adapt to unknown challenges, work with diverse people and recall some dormant skills and develop new ones.

So, it’s increasingly likely that I’ll be in New York this time next year, and my trip to the admitted student weekend in a couple of weeks will serve mainly to confirm the decision that I’m leaning towards. In the meantime, I’m even more appreciative of my remaining time here and of my good fortune to experience days like these.

This entry was posted in Stay or Go and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Days Like These

  1. Mark Wong says:

    I guess all good things come to an end eventually. Good luck on the next stage of your journey.

    • JustShip says:

      Thank you, Mark. Congratulations again and good luck to you as well. If we make the right choices, I think it’s more like moving on from one good thing to something even better.

  2. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline « Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

  3. Brady Lewis says:

    I applaud you for your courage and drive to leave such a comfortable setting in pursuit of new challenges. I truly hope it all works out wonderfully for you.

Leave a Reply

